Wegovy Coupon: What the Manufacturer Savings Card Covers

At a glance

  • Product / Wegovy (semaglutide), Novo Nordisk [2]
  • Injection approved / 2021-06-04, NDA 215256 [2]
  • Tablets approved / 2025-12-22, adults only [3][1]
  • Label indications / Weight management, CV risk reduction, MASH (injection) [1]
  • Savings card terms / Set by the manufacturer's program; not stated in the FDA label [1]
  • Compounded semaglutide / Not FDA-approved; not a Wegovy product [4]

What the Wegovy label covers

Wegovy is Novo Nordisk's semaglutide product approved for chronic weight management [2][1]. Its prescribing information covers the drug itself: indications, dosing, warnings, adverse reactions and interactions [1]. It describes Wegovy dosing, and it does not list a savings-card discount, eligibility rules or limits [1].

Which Wegovy products exist

Wegovy injection was approved on 2021-06-04 under NDA 215256 [2]. The label covers three uses, each alongside a reduced-calorie diet and more physical activity:

  • reducing the risk of major cardiovascular events in adults with established cardiovascular disease and either obesity or overweight;
  • reducing excess body weight and maintaining the loss in adults and children aged 12 and older with obesity, and in adults with overweight plus at least one weight-related condition;
  • treating noncirrhotic MASH with moderate to advanced fibrosis (stages F2 to F3) in adults, under accelerated approval [1].

Wegovy tablets are a separate approval, granted 2025-12-22, and are for adults only: cardiovascular risk reduction in adults with established cardiovascular disease and obesity or overweight, and weight reduction in adults with obesity or with overweight plus a related condition. The tablet label gives no pediatric or MASH indication [3][1].

Ozempic is a different semaglutide product from the same company, approved for type 2 diabetes and with no weight-loss indication [5].

Compounded semaglutide is not the brand

A compounded semaglutide prescription is not a Wegovy prescription. FDA says compounded drugs are not FDA approved and are not reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality before marketing [4]. The Wegovy label also says the drug is not recommended in combination with another semaglutide-containing product or with any other GLP-1 receptor agonist [1].

Frequently asked questions

Does the Wegovy savings card cover compounded semaglutide?
The FDA information does not state whether the Wegovy savings card covers compounded semaglutide. Compounded semaglutide is not FDA approved and is not a Wegovy product [4].
Is Wegovy available as a tablet?
Yes. Wegovy tablets were approved on 2025-12-22 for adults, for cardiovascular risk reduction and weight reduction. The tablet label gives no pediatric or MASH indication [3][1].
Does Ozempic have a weight-loss indication?
No. Ozempic is approved for type 2 diabetes: glycemic control, cardiovascular risk reduction in adults with established cardiovascular disease, and kidney outcomes in adults with chronic kidney disease. Its label has no weight-loss indication [5].
Which Wegovy products exist in the US?
Wegovy injection under NDA 215256, approved 2021-06-04, and Wegovy tablets under NDA 218316, approved 2025-12-22. The tablets are for adults only [2][3][1].

References

  1. U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed. Wegovy injection and Wegovy tablets (Novo Nordisk) prescribing information. Wegovy injection and Wegovy tablets (Novo Nordisk) label
  2. Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs. Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs
  3. Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs. Drugs@FDA: FDA-Approved Drugs
  4. FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss | FDA. FDA’s Concerns with Unapproved GLP-1 Drugs Used for Weight Loss | FDA
  5. U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed. Ozempic (subcutaneous) (semaglutide) prescribing information. Ozempic (subcutaneous) (semaglutide) label
Evidence overview for Wegovy Coupon: What the Manufacturer Savings Card Covers