MOTS-c After 65: What Geriatric Safety Evidence Is Missing

At a glance

  • Administered-human MOTS-c safety after 65 / not established
  • Geriatric pharmacokinetics or dose response / not established
  • Current registered trial age range / 18 to 65
  • Current registered trial results / none posted
  • Older-organism treatment evidence / mouse experiments
  • Human exercise evidence / endogenous MOTS-c measurements in young men, not treatment
  • Geriatric dose or monitoring schedule / not established
  • Medical review / current review of this revision is pending

Age Evidence Requires People in the Age Group

The legacy page moved from aging biology to fall risk, kidney dose adjustment, immune effects, laboratory schedules, and a geriatric risk-benefit protocol. None came from an administered-human MOTS-c study in people over 65.

The International Council for Harmonisation states the evidence principle plainly:

“Patients entering clinical trials should be reasonably representative of the population that will be later treated by the drug.”

The issuer is the ICH E7 Expert Working Group in Studies in Support of Special Populations: Geriatrics, under “General Principle.” The guidance describes how geriatric drug evidence should be developed; it does not endorse MOTS-c or provide its dose.

For this guideline, geriatric patients are defined as age 65 or older, with explicit encouragement to include people 75 and older. A registry capped at age 65 cannot establish safety across that population.

The Geriatric Evidence Envelope

Evidence layerPopulation and exposureWhat was measuredWhat it cannot establish
Current Phase 2 registryAdults 18–65; controlled study administration plannedInsulin-sensitivity and safety outcomes; no results postedSafety or dosing after 65
Aging and exercise studyYoung male volunteers exercised; young, middle-aged, and old mice received experimental treatmentEndogenous human MOTS-c response to exercise; mouse physical performance and biologyEffects of administering MOTS-c to older people
FDA compounding reviewLiterature, nomination, safety databases, product-quality evidenceWhether evidence supported compounded MOTS-c bulk substancesA geriatric dose, interaction rate, or monitoring schedule
ICH E7 guidanceDrug-development standardRepresentation, age comparison, PK, renal/hepatic and drug-interaction considerationsMOTS-c-specific clinical findings

The envelope contains useful aging biology and an evidence standard. It does not contain a geriatric treatment cohort.

Figure 1

Ages covered by the MOTS-c human record, set against the ICH geriatric definition

Ages covered by the MOTS-c human record, set against the ICH geriatric definitionRange chart of ages in years. The Reynolds et al. exercise study measured the body's own MOTS-c in 10 young men with a mean age of 24.5 years; none received MOTS-c. Trial NCT07505745 lets adults aged 18 to 65 receive MOTS-c and has posted no results. ICH E7 defines the geriatric population as 65 and older, shaded, and asks trials to seek patients 75 and above where possible. No administered-human MOTS-c data exist inside the shaded zone.Reynolds et al.: 10 young men, own MOTS-c measured, none given24.5 yearsmean age; individual ages not reportedNCT07505745: ages eligible to receive MOTS-c18–65 yearsrecruiting; no results postedICH E7: geriatric means 65 and older (shaded); trials should seek patients 75 andabove75 years203550658095Age (years)
Ages covered by the MOTS-c human record, set against the ICH geriatric definitionRange chart of ages in years. The Reynolds et al. exercise study measured the body's own MOTS-c in 10 young men with a mean age of 24.5 years; none received MOTS-c. Trial NCT07505745 lets adults aged 18 to 65 receive MOTS-c and has posted no results. ICH E7 defines the geriatric population as 65 and older, shaded, and asks trials to seek patients 75 and above where possible. No administered-human MOTS-c data exist inside the shaded zone.Reynolds et al.: 10 young men, ownMOTS-c measured, none given24.5 yearsmean age; individual ages not reportedNCT07505745: ages eligible toreceive MOTS-c18–65 yearsrecruiting; no results postedICH E7: geriatric means 65 and older(shaded); trials should seek patients 75and above75 years203550658095Age (years)
The shaded zone is the geriatric population as ICH E7 defines it. The only people scheduled to receive MOTS-c under a registered protocol are adults 18 to 65, and no results are posted; the human exercise data come from 10 young men whose own MOTS-c was measured, not given. FDA found no clinical studies or human exposure data at any age, so nobody 65 or older appears in the published record. Mouse ages are left out because they do not convert to human ages. Sources: Reynolds et al., Nat Commun 2021, methods, human exercise trial (full text) [4]; ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT07505745, eligibility, inclusion criteria, identification [3]; ICH E7 geriatrics guideline, section III, Definition of the Population, cover [1]; FDA briefing document on MOTS-c for the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (July 2026), section II.C.2.c, Clinical Studies Assessing Safety [2].
Show the numbers behind this chart
Ages covered by the MOTS-c human record, set against the ICH geriatric definition
SourceLow (years)High (years)Note
Reynolds et al.: 10 young men, own MOTS-c measured, none given24.524.5mean age; individual ages not reported
NCT07505745: ages eligible to receive MOTS-c1865recruiting; no results posted
ICH E7: geriatric means 65 and older (shaded); trials should seek patients 75 and above7575

Why the Mouse Study Is Easy to Overread

Reynolds and colleagues reported that experimental MOTS-c treatment improved physical capacity in mice across age groups, including late-life mice. In the human portion, ten young male participants performed exercise, and researchers measured endogenous MOTS-c in muscle and circulation (PMID 33473109; DOI 10.1038/s41467-020-20790-0).

Those are two different experiments:

  • old mice received an experimental intervention;
  • young humans exercised and had their own peptide measured.

Combining them into “older humans tolerated MOTS-c” changes the study design and is not a valid inference.

What the Current Trial Does Not Resolve

NCT07505745 is a recruiting Phase 2a study in adults ages 18 to 65 with prediabetes and overweight or obesity. Its public record lists no results.

Even if a 65-year-old enrolls, the trial cannot yet establish:

  • a safety profile for people in their seventies, eighties, or nineties;
  • age-related pharmacokinetics;
  • interaction rates in broad polypharmacy;
  • dose adjustment for frailty, kidney disease, or liver disease; or
  • a geriatric monitoring interval.

One boundary age is not a representative older-adult database.

Separate Age From the Variables That Travel With Age

Age can correlate with kidney function, liver function, body composition, frailty, cognition, multiple diagnoses, and concurrent medicines. It does not replace them.

QuestionEvidence neededCurrent MOTS-c status
Does exposure change with age?Administered-human PK across age groupsNot identified
Does kidney function change exposure?Renal-impairment PK or excretion studyNot identified
Are adverse events more common after 65?Age-stratified administered-human safety dataNot identified
Do common medicines interact?Defined drug-interaction studies or credible case dataNot identified
Does frailty change benefit or harm?Outcomes in a characterized frailty cohortNot identified

The MOTS-c renal-impairment audit examines why endogenous CKD findings do not create an eGFR dose table. The age 50–64 dosing review explains why no age adjustment can be calculated without a validated starting dose, and the older-adult safety page maps safety uncertainty before the geriatric boundary.

Figure 2

What ICH E7 expects a drug program to show for older patients, and the MOTS-c status

Flow diagram in four steps. First, ICH E7 says that for drugs used in diseases present in, but not unique to, older people, a minimum of 100 older patients would usually allow detection of clinically important differences; the only registered MOTS-c trial stops at age 65 and has posted no results. Second, ICH E7 asks whether pharmacokinetics differ in older people, including with abnormal kidney or liver function; FDA identified no clinical studies with pharmacokinetic data for MOTS-c. Third, ICH E7 says interactions matter most for older patients, who are more likely to take other medicines, and that patients with other illnesses should not be excluded unnecessarily; FDA identified no clinical studies of MOTS-c of any kind. Result: no geriatric dose, monitoring schedule or interaction list can be built from the current record.
Each step pairs an ICH E7 expectation with what FDA's July 2026 review found for MOTS-c. ICH E7 describes how drug developers should build geriatric evidence; it says nothing about MOTS-c itself. Every check is still open. Sources: ICH E7 geriatrics guideline, section V, Clinical Experience, section VI [1]; FDA briefing document on MOTS-c for the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee (July 2026), section II.C.2.a, Pharmacokinetic Data, section II.C.2.c [2]; ClinicalTrials.gov record NCT07505745, eligibility, inclusion criteria, record status [3].
Text version of this diagram
  1. Enough older patients to compare: ICH E7: for drugs used in diseases present in, but not unique to, older people, a minimum of 100 older patients would usually allow detection of clinically important differences. MOTS-c: the only registered trial stops at age 65 and has posted no results.
  2. How older bodies handle the drug: ICH E7: test whether pharmacokinetics differ from younger adults, including the effects of abnormal kidney or liver function. MOTS-c: FDA identified no clinical studies with pharmacokinetic data.
  3. Other medicines and illnesses: ICH E7: interactions matter most for older patients, who are more likely to take other medicines, and patients with other illnesses should not be excluded unnecessarily. MOTS-c: FDA identified no clinical studies of any kind.
  4. Where that leaves people over 65: No geriatric dose, monitoring schedule or interaction list can be built from the current record. Any of these would be invented.

Product Risk Is Not an Age-Specific Adverse Event

FDA's July 2026 review found no human exposure data for MOTS-c via any route and no clinical pharmacokinetic studies. It also raised concerns about injection-related immunogenicity, aggregation, peptide impurities, and inconsistent substance naming.

Those concerns apply to the evidence and product layer. They do not prove that older adults have a particular reaction, fall risk, or organ complication.

The Responsible Bottom Line

The defensible conclusion is narrow: older-mouse biology is interesting, but administered-human geriatric safety is uncharacterized. This page cannot supply a reduced dose, laboratory cadence, fall-prevention protocol, or “healthy older adult” exception.

Medical review of this revision is pending. ICH, FDA, trial investigators, institutions, and study authors do not endorse MOTS-c, HealthRX.com, or this page.

Frequently asked questions

Has MOTS-c been studied in people older than 65?
No published administered-human MOTS-c safety study in people older than 65 was identified. The current registered trial lists ages 18 to 65 and has no results posted.
Do old-mouse studies prove MOTS-c is safe for older adults?
No. Animal treatment experiments can generate hypotheses about aging biology, but they do not establish human pharmacokinetics, adverse-event rates, or dosing.
Is there a geriatric MOTS-c dose reduction?
No validated starting dose, geriatric pharmacokinetic study, or age-adjustment study was identified, so a percentage reduction would be invented.
Does age alone determine MOTS-c risk?
No. Kidney and liver function, frailty, diagnoses, medicines, product identity, route, and symptoms are separate variables. None has a validated MOTS-c dosing algorithm.

References

  1. International Council for Harmonisation. E7: Studies in Support of Special Populations—Geriatrics. June 24, 1993. See PDF page 2, section II, General Principle; and page 3, sections IV–VI. https://database.ich.org/sites/default/files/E7_Guideline.pdf
  2. U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Center for Drug Evaluation and Research. MOTS-c-Related Bulk Drug Substances: Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee Briefing Document. July 23–24, 2026. See PDF pages 25–30. https://www.fda.gov/media/193347/download
  3. National Library of Medicine, ClinicalTrials.gov. Hudson Biotech. A Phase 2a, Randomized, Double-blind, Placebo-controlled Study to Evaluate the Efficacy, Safety, and Pharmacodynamics of MOTS-c (a Mitochondrial-Derived Peptide) in Adults With Prediabetes and Overweight/Obesity. NCT07505745. Phase 2a; recruiting; estimated enrollment 120; first and last update posted April 1, 2026; no results posted; accessed August 30, 2026. https://clinicaltrials.gov/study/NCT07505745
  4. Reynolds JC; Lai RW; Woodhead JST; Joly JH; Mitchell CJ; Cameron-Smith D; Lu R; Cohen P; Graham NA; Benayoun BA; Merry TL; Lee C. MOTS-c is an exercise-induced mitochondrial-encoded regulator of age-dependent physical decline and muscle homeostasis. Nature communications. 2021 Jan 20;12(1):470. DOI 10.1038/s41467-020-20790-0. PMID 33473109. PMCID PMC7817689. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33473109/
Diverse older-adult profiles face an evidence frame that ends in an unfilled age band, representing absent administered-human evidence after 65 without implying treatment.
HealthRX evidence illustration: Diverse older-adult profiles face an evidence frame that ends in an unfilled age band, representing absent administered-human evidence after 65 without implying treatment. Image: HealthRX.com custom clinical image