Ozempic Sulfur Burps: Severity Grading Rubric, Causes, and Management

At a glance

  • Drug / Ozempic (semaglutide) 0.25 to 2 mg injected once weekly [1]
  • Label term / Eructation, listed with GI reactions under 5% [1]
  • Trial rates / Placebo 0%, 0.5 mg 2.7%, 1 mg 1.1% [1]
  • Tablet form / Placebo 0%, 7 mg 0.6%, 14 mg 2% [2]
  • Mechanism / Semaglutide delays gastric emptying [1]
  • Severity tracking / How often it happens, and whether it changes eating, drinking or sleep
  • Severe GI reactions / 0% placebo, 0.4% on 0.5 mg, 0.8% on 1 mg [1]
  • Label red flag / Persistent severe abdominal pain, sometimes radiating to the back [1]

What the Ozempic label reports

The label's word for belching is eructation. In the pooled placebo-controlled trials behind the Ozempic label (262 patients on placebo, 260 on 0.5 mg and 261 on 1 mg, mean exposure 32.9 weeks), eructation was reported by 0% on placebo, 2.7% on 0.5 mg and 1.1% on 1 mg [1]. The label places it with the gastrointestinal reactions that occurred in fewer than 5% of patients, alongside dyspepsia (1.9%, 3.5%, 2.7% for placebo, 0.5 mg and 1 mg), flatulence (0.8%, 0.4%, 1.5%) and gastroesophageal reflux disease (0%, 1.9%, 1.5%) [1].

The label does not separate a sulfur-smelling burp from an ordinary one, so it gives no rate for sulfur burps on Ozempic.

The semaglutide tablet label (Rybelsus, with Ozempic tablets approved under the same application) reports eructation in 0% on placebo, 0.6% at 7 mg and 2% at 14 mg daily [2].

What the label says about gastric emptying

Semaglutide is a GLP-1 receptor agonist that delays gastric emptying. The Ozempic label cites that delay when it says the drug may affect the absorption of oral medicines taken at the same time [1]. The label does not say whether delayed emptying explains belching, or why a burp might smell of sulfur.

How to track severity in practice

The Ozempic label reports how often belching occurred, but it does not grade sulfur burps by severity [1]. This is a tracking list, not a validated scale. What is useful to record:

  • How often it happens. Occasional burps after meals are a different problem from near-constant belching.
  • Whether it changes what you eat or drink. Skipping meals, eating far less, or avoiding fluids matters more than the count.
  • Whether it disturbs sleep, work or social eating.
  • Whether any of the label's serious-reaction signs are present. They are listed below.

Does belching get worse as the dose goes up?

Not in the label's belching numbers, which were 2.7% at 0.5 mg and 1.1% at 1 mg [1]. Overall gastrointestinal reactions were more common on 1 mg than on 0.5 mg: any GI adverse reaction was 15.3% on placebo, 32.7% on 0.5 mg and 36.4% on 1 mg, and severe GI reactions were 0% on placebo, 0.4% on 0.5 mg and 0.8% on 1 mg [1]. A separate 40-week trial of 959 patients compared 2 mg with 1 mg and found GI reactions in 34% versus 30.8%, with no new safety signals [1].

The label notes that most reports of nausea, vomiting and diarrhea occurred during dose escalation [1].

The labeled schedule is 0.25 mg once weekly for 4 weeks, a starting dose the label does not treat as a maintenance dose, then 0.5 mg, with any increase to 1 mg and then 2 mg coming after at least 4 weeks on the current dose; 2 mg weekly is the maximum [1].

What the label flags as more serious

Belching on its own is not on the label's list of serious reactions. These are.

  • Severe gastrointestinal reactions. Reported in 0.4% of patients on 0.5 mg and 0.8% on 1 mg, versus 0% on placebo [1]. The label also says Ozempic is not recommended in patients with severe gastroparesis, and postmarketing reports include ileus, intestinal obstruction, and severe constipation with fecal impaction [1]. The label does not state that semaglutide causes gastroparesis.
  • Acute pancreatitis. The label describes its signs as persistent or severe abdominal pain, sometimes radiating to the back, which may or may not be accompanied by nausea or vomiting [1].
  • Acute kidney injury from volume depletion. The label says to monitor renal function in patients reporting reactions that could lead to dehydration, especially during dose initiation and escalation [1].

What the label offers for sulfur burps

The Ozempic label identifies no treatment for sulfur-smelling burps and does not measure sulfur gas [1]. Its dosing section ties dose increases to time: each increase comes after at least 4 weeks on the current dose [1]. It does not say whether the dose-escalation pattern seen with nausea, vomiting and diarrhea also applies to belching.

Frequently asked questions

Frequently asked questions

Does Ozempic cause sulfur burps?
The label lists eructation, meaning belching, in 2.7% of patients on 0.5 mg and 1.1% on 1 mg, versus 0% on placebo [1]. It does not record whether those burps smelled of sulfur, so it gives no sulfur-specific rate.
How do I track how bad sulfur burps are?
Record how often belching happens, whether it changes what you eat or drink, and whether it disturbs sleep, work or social eating. The Ozempic label does not grade sulfur burps by severity [1].
Do sulfur burps get worse at higher Ozempic doses?
The label's belching figures were 2.7% at 0.5 mg and 1.1% at 1 mg, so they did not rise with dose, while overall GI reactions did: 15.3% on placebo, 32.7% on 0.5 mg and 36.4% on 1 mg [1].
Which Ozempic label warnings go beyond belching?
The label describes persistent or severe abdominal pain, sometimes radiating to the back, as a possible sign of pancreatitis. It also lists severe GI reactions and kidney injury from dehydration after vomiting or diarrhea [1].
Does Ozempic cause gastroparesis?
The label says Ozempic is not recommended in patients with severe gastroparesis and lists postmarketing reports of ileus, intestinal obstruction and severe constipation with fecal impaction, but it does not state that the drug causes gastroparesis [1].

References

  1. U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed. Ozempic injection (Novo Nordisk) prescribing information. Ozempic injection (Novo Nordisk) label
  2. U.S. National Library of Medicine, DailyMed. Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets (Novo Nordisk) (oral semaglutide) prescribing information. Rybelsus and Ozempic tablets (Novo Nordisk) (oral semaglutide) label
Evidence overview for Ozempic Sulfur Burps: Severity Grading Rubric, Causes, and Management